Winter Update – Alumni News!

Alumni Updates!

Kris Klingler (Class of 2016) is now the Territory Manager for Mabscott Supply in the Charleston, Huntington, Parkersburg area.

kris klingler

Christy Laxton (Class of 2017) was appointed as Vice Chair of the WV Small Business Development Center Advisory Board effective October 1, 2017. She also received her Economic Development Finance Professional Recertification from the National Development Council on December 18, 2017.

Christy Laxton

Karen Jacobson (Class of 2006)  has been serving as the Executive Director of the Randolph County Housing Authority since 2007.  In May she was appointed by the Governor to the Board of Directors of the WV Affordable Housing Trust Fund, and now serve as the Chair of the Board.   In 2012, she helped to launch a small business lending entity, Woodlands Community Lenders, Inc. which is a certified Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI).  In four years, they have lent out $2 million to 70 small businesses in our three-county target area, created 70 jobs, and leveraged another $4 million in financing from local banks.  In 2014,  she graduated from another leadership course—this one for community development professionals—called Achieving Excellence.  The AE program is offered through NeighborWorks America and Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.   She is also still skiing, climbing, hiking and carrying on in the Potomac Highlands.


John Reger (Class of 1994) was appointed to the Boone Memorial Hospital Board of Directors after working with the Hospital as the Project Development Consultant to complete its $39 million replacement hospital.  John served as Chairman of the WV SBDC Advisory Board and continue to serve as an Advisory Board Member.  He also completed and received re-certification from the Mergers & Acquisition Source as a Certified Business Intermediary.

John Reger

Flaherty Sensabaugh Bonasso PLLC is pleased to announce that Caleb P. Knight (Class of 2016) has been elected Member. Caleb joined Flaherty in 2010. He focuses his practice on corporate transactions, employment law, health care compliance and trademark law. Caleb has routinely acted as outside general counsel to closely-held businesses, handling business organizational and relationship issues, workforce issues, and commercial transactions. Flaherty serves local, national and international clients in the areas of litigation and transactional law. Founded in 1991, today more than 60 attorneys provide efficient and effective counsel to turn clients’ obstacles into opportunities. Visit to learn more.

C. Knight

Lindsey Keeney (Class of 2017) is now working in her hometown of Ripley, practicing medicine at Ripley Family CaShe is also enjoying time with her son Wade who is seven months old!

L. Keeney 2

Ronald Witt Jr. (Class of 2010) was named a “Habitat Hero” in late 2017.

R. Witt

Christopher Ross (Class of 2015) and Angela Vance (Class of 2010) welcomed two future West Virginia leaders this year with the birth of their first children, Henry and Alia, on July 23, 2017. Additionally, Chris was named as a partner at Pullin, Fowler, Flanagan, Brown & Poe in February and Angela completed her 15th year as a lobbyist and did it while carrying twins!

C Ross

On July 1, 2017, Laura Martin (Class of 2013) was named President of the American Water Charitable Foundation – a 501©3 nonprofit organization established in 2010 to provide a formal way to demonstrate American Water’s ongoing commitment to being a good neighbor, citizen, and contributor to the communities where American Water and its employees live, work and operate.


Sven Berg (Class of 2014) has been promoted to CEO at Quality Insights as of November 2017. Congratulations Sven!

Sven Berg

Until May  2018, Jill McIntyre (Class of 2012) is serving as President of Defense Trial Counsel of West Virginia, a 500 member association of civil defense attorneys.  She is also serving a three-term on the West Virginia State Bar Board of Governors.

Jill head shot-c

Effective with the April 26, 2017 affiliation of Motorists Insurance Group and BrickStreet Insurance, Terri McCormick (Class of 2004) was named the Senior VP, HR for the combined group.

Terri McCormick

As one of the owners of West Virginia Executive magazine, Kensie Hamilton (Class of 2015) was given a unique opportunity to learn about all aspects of business from the best. This fall, she participated in the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses (10KSB) program.


This summer Dr. Michelle Easton (Class of 2011) was appointed by Governor Jim Justice to the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Advisory Board thru June 30, 2021.


Jamie Summerlin (Class of 2013)  received The Earl L. Core Award. This award is the Morgantown Chamber’s most prestigious award given to an Individual or individuals who display outstanding community service for a minimum of 5 years as a resident of Monongalia County. Congratulations to Jamie Summerlin! 

Jamie Summerlin

In Memory Of

LWV would like to honor the memory of Allen Ammons (class of 2015) who passed away on February 19. 


Mike Cvechko’s (Class of 2009) business Cvechko Insurance was honored by Erie Insurance for growth and profitability. Read more from the Cvechko Insurance press release.

EE1029 Mike Cvechko (1 of 2)

Miranda Kessel (Class of 2012) married Stephen Vincent on December 21 in Caratunk, Maine. The couple resides in McHenry, MD. Miranda Kessel is employed by Garrett Regional Medical Center where her marketing work covers health care needs for residents of Maryland and West Virginia.  


Ingrid Loy (Class of 2017) was promoted to Director of Marketing for Eagle Manufacturing Company.


IngridLoy S