Summer Alumni Updates

Mark Barnes (Class of 2012) is currently serving as vice-chairman of the board of the Harrison County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors.  He is also chairing their Centennial Committee, which is a planning and organizing committee to celebrate the Harrison County Chamber’s 100 years of service next year – 2019!

Michelle Barnes (Class of 2013) is currently serving on the Berkeley County Board of Education and has been reappointed to WV Women’s Commission. She was also promoted to Broadband Manager for WV Frontier Communication.

Deborah Berry (Class of 2011) continues to work as the County Administrator for the Fayette County Commission.  She and her husband welcomed their first grandchild in May 2017, granddaughter Maeson Adley-Ruth Wilson.

Hannah Bolyard (Class of 2013) and her husband Scott, welcomed their first child, a baby girl, Ava Jean on October 24th, 2017.

Ric Cavender (Class of 2015) was selected as a 2018 International Downtown Association Emerging Leaders Fellow. Thirty urban development professionals from around the globe were selected for the fellowship and Ric was the first one, representing Charleston and CMS, to be selected from West Virginia. Click here to view the press release.

Sue G. Chapman (Class of 2017) has recently been selected as Chief Financial Officer for the School Building Authority.

Since retiring from Verizon back in 2011 Sam Cipoletti (Class of 1998) has started and still maintains Cipoletti Public Affairs LLC.  He provides PR and public affairs consulting for WV clients on a part-time basis. He recently moved back to West Virginia to be closer to his children and grandchildren in WV, Ohio. Pa. and Va. 

Joelle Connors (Class of 2011) was named WV Wonder Woman by WV Living Magazine in their Fall ’17 edition. In her community, she organized a women’s golf clinic on behalf of the Women’s Giving Circle. The golf clinic was designed to empower women with a skill that can immeasurably improve professional and personal development. Recently, she also became engaged to Mr. Stefan Moray. Wedding plans for October (this year!).

Michelle Easton (Class of 2011) was the recipient of the West Virginia Women’s Commission, Lena Yost Educating Women Award on March 29, 2018, and also the recipient of the West Virginia Executive Magazine’s Class of 2018 Sharp Shooter Award on May 31, 2018.

Andrea Salina Fleming (Class of 2012) was nominated and selected for the State Journal’s 40 Under 40.

Sean Forney (class of 2016) and his wife Jackie had their third daughter Skylar on February 20th.  Sean also won the Primary Election and defeated a two-term incumbent for a seat on the county commission. 

Kensie Hamiton (Class of 2015) and her husband Adam welcomed the arrival of their daughter Quinn Nicole Fauber on March 30, 2018. 

In January Seth Hayes (Class of 2013) was named the Managing Member of Jackson Kelly’s Morgantown, Bridgeport, Martinsburg and Wheeling, West Virginia offices.

Stephanie Hyre (class of 2017) is currently co-chairing the Appalachia Funders Network’s Arts & Culture Working Group.  They are focused on lifting up creative placemaking, arts education, and cultural heritage activities throughout the region.  Also, in May 2018, she accepted a position as member of the WV Commission for Professional Teaching Standards.

Suttle & Stalnaker, PLLC is excited to announce that Miri Hunter (Class of 2013), CPA, CGMA has recently earned the Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA) designation, which is accredited by the National Association of Valuators and Analysts (NACVA).

Thorney Lieberman’s (class of 2013) exhibit of full-length, life-size coal miner photographs will open at the Culture Center at the State Capitol on June 20th at 2 PM and a reception will be held on June 21st from 6-8 PM. All alumni of LWV are invited.

Jim Mahurin (class of 1993) is working across the US providing Risk Management & Insurance Consulting services to the insurance buyers. After 34 years in this business, he recently delivered his third complementary report. The focus of his consulting practice has shifted to a larger percent of Litigation Support & Expert Witness services to law firms.  Jim has been involved in over 80 cases across the US.  He is also a Master Gardener and recently completed a 3 year program to receive a Certificate in Native Plants.

In 2018 Tracy Miller (Class of 2002) was selected to by NCWV Life magazine as one of the Women of Distinction, shattering glass ceilings on the way to soaring new heights as major contributors to the success of north central WV & the Mountain State. She is also the 2018 Recipient of Pierpont Community & Technical College Pierpont Pride Award.

Chris Nichols (Class of 2014) has a new position with Biogen’s Rare Disease Division as a Thought Leader Liaison for Spinraza (the first and only treatment for Spinal Muscular Atrophy – SMA). It is a marketing position responsible for building, implementing, and executing marketing tactics supporting educational goals, and the appropriate use of Spinraza therapy with HCPs, their staff, and the caregiver/patient community.

Jill Parsons (Class of 2014) was just named to the Black Diamond Girl Scout board.

LWV Board President Steve Roberts was recently inducted into the Marshall Hall of Fame. Read the full press release here. Congratulations Steve!

Carrie Staton (Class of 2016) was named in the 2018 Class of Generation Next: 40 Under 40, an annual list that recognizes young professionals making a difference in their communities. Carrie was recognized for her work and dedication to community development across the state through her position at the NBAC, as well as in her new role as Director of WVU BAD Buildings.

Jim Strawn (class of 2001) was honored to receive the ‘Do The Charleston’ Award as part of the Charleston Area Alliance’s We Love Our Community 2018 Awards. The award is presented to a Charleston individual exhibiting the love of community by going above and beyond to make it a better place to live, learn, work and play.

Justin Turner (class of 2014) was recently recognized with the George Kostas Award for the 2018 Business Professional of the Year by the Logan County Chamber of Commerce. He was also promoted to Assistant CEO at Logan Regional Medical Center.

Amanda Wilson (class of 2017) was recognized in February as a 2018 Marquis Who’s Who for higher education professionals. She also completed a graduate certificate for Women in Educational Leadership at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Education in March 2018 and was accepted into Walden University’s Doctor of Business Administration program. Most recently she was recognized with the American Public University System (APUS) Excellence in Service Award in May 2018.